Football News News

Chris Hughton Sacked by Nottingham Forest. Who next for the Tricky Trees?

Nottingham Forest Scores

Nottingham Forest have sacked manager Chris Hughton following a dismal start to the season and as the search starts for a suitable replacement, now is a great time to catch up on the latest Nottingham Forest scores, results and news which can be found at our Fixtures & results page.



Who next for the Tricky Trees?

With Nottingham Forest rock bottom of the Championship table and winless after seven matches, it was always going to be on the agenda that Chris Hughton was going to be dismissed. The inevitable happened earlier today and was prompted by the 2-0 defeat at home to to Middlesbrough on Wednesday evening. Steven Reid will take the reins on an interim basis until a new permanent boss is appointed and as things stand, former Swansea City boss Steve Cooper is favourite to succeed Hughton.

A club statement read: “Nottingham Forest can confirm that Chris Hughton has been relieved of his duties as first-team manager.

“The club would like to place on record its appreciation for Chris’s efforts. Chris joined the club in a difficult period for everyone in football and around the world and we thank him for the way he has conducted himself during his tenure.”

Hughton was appointed as Nottingham Forest manager in October 2020, however he has endured a thoroughly miserable start to the current campaign and with just a single point on the board after seven league games, it should come as a surprise to no-one that he has been sacked.

With the search for a suitable replacement now underway, many names are in the frame. As well as favourite Steve Cooper, the likes of Chris Wilder, Alex Neil, John Terry and Carlos Carvalhal are considered as serious contenders for the newly vacated position. Leonardo Jardim, Paul Clement, Frank Lampard and Eddie Howe are also on the fringes of the betting market as the hunt gets underway.


Next Swansea City Manager Best Odds


4/9  –  Steve Cooper

9/4  –  Chris Wilder

11/1 –  Alex Neil

16/1 –  John Terry

20/1 –  Carlos Carvalhal

22/1 –  Leonardo Jardim

22/1 –  Paul Clement

25/1 –  Frank Lampard

25/1 –  Eddie Howe

25/1 –  Roy Keane